Why my Clarity brain sample enlarged and become yellow

This is my first try to do Clarity with 2M mouse whole brain. The brain sample was perfused and fixed with 4% PFA. So I incubated brain sample with Hydrogel solution in dark room for 2 weeks on a rotator. After polymerization and washing, I did electrophoretic tissue clearing with one commercial Clarity Chamber, the set is 37 degree, and 1.5mA. After 2 days, I checked the brain sample, and found the size of brain enlarged almost twice and color become yellow, kind of semi-transparents. Anyone know what caused this? specially yellow color? Thanks!

Comments

• LinusMGLinusMG Posts: 20
    edited January 2016
    Hi,

By what you say it seems it can be normal. The pictures in the original clarity paper are black&white. It happens to become yellowish (even though not very yellow), and both in clearing solution and pbst it will be swollen (gels physical properties). It should go back to "something close to normal size" after refractive index matching.
    In this paper you can see better orientative pictures: (fig 3a) http://www.nature.com/articles/srep09808

This can also be of your interest: http://eneuro.org/content/2/3/ENEURO.0022-15.2015

Best!
  • Hi, sometimes my sample also turns to kind of yellow color, I run the Clarity in 4C cold room 75W, buffer temperature is around 20C. Some part of the sample turn to black if I continue running it. So, I check the sample every 1 hr and run the ETC every other day.
  • LeoLeo Posts: 9